MAILING LIST SUBSCRIPTION:     

Forum

Welcome Guest, posting in this forum requires registration.

Pages: [1]
Topic: Any nurses out there?
superquiet
Any nurses out there?
on: Oct 14, 2012, 1:21am

I'm not sure if nursing is suitable for an introvert. The caring, sensitive part is, but the multitasking and overstimulation of urgent type situations isn't. What are your thoughts if you're a nurse?

sunfire
Re: Any nurses out there?
on: Oct 18, 2012, 10:41am

Hi there. I've been a nurse for about 20 years in the hospital environment. I would consider myself on the extreme version of introversion. I will tell you that there are times when the loud, fast paced environment can be too much at times, but I have adjusted to it. I have been told many times that I have the ability to keep others calm in a crisis situation, such as a code, just by my calm demeanor. When I first started out I was constantly told that I "wouldn't make it" "you don't talk enough". I spoke up for my patients and co-workers when necessary. My patients were always well cared for. I went from staff nurse to charge nurse and I am now a nurse manager. I would encourage you to persue nursing if that is what you want.

tangly
on: Dec 23, 2012, 1:31am

I'm an ex-nurse (but I lasted 13 years), and I have to say it exhausted me! New patients/shift staff etc. every single day required a bit more extroversion than I could muster - although I liked the actual work. I ended up with anxiety and anxiety-related skin conditions. Not a good match for my temperament, but it was good experience.

If you want to go into it, I'd suggest looking at positions where you can focus on one person at a time - like visiting nurse or ICU. (I know a nurse who works in operating theatre because she doesn't have to chat to so many new people!)

I now work as a health librarian, and it suits me MUCH better. Good luck!

shaw
on: Jan 9, 2013, 5:51pm